Doctoral Workshop



The 14th EuroSys Doctoral Workshop (EuroDW 2020) will provide a forum for PhD students to present their work and receive constructive feedback from experts in the field as well as from peers. Technical presentations will be augmented with general advice and discussions about getting a PhD, doing research, and career perspectives. We invite applications from PhD students at any stage of their doctoral studies.

EuroDW 2020 will also offer the opportunity for what we call “mentoring moments”. The idea is to give graduate students a chance to talk one-on-one (or, in some cases, one-on-two) about their research with outstanding researchers beyond those available at the students’ universities.

EuroDW 2020 has transformed into a virtual event, using the Zoom platform for streaming pre-recorded 5 min talks followed by 5 min live Q&A. We will additionally feature a #eurodw20 Slack channel in the main EuroSys Slack workspace where interaction can continue asynchronously during the workshop. We would like to thank our mentors who will provide remote mentoring to EuroDW students of accepted papers.

The program is ready! To register, please follow this link. 
Please register well in-advance, as registrations require a couple of days to be processed.
All times are in CET (GMT+2).
13:30 – 15:00 Session 1: Memory and data subsystems
Chair: Evangelia Kalyvianaki
Welcome message from the PC Chairs
AutoDBMS: Auto-Tuning Database Management Systems
Sami Alabed (University of Cambridge)
Mentor: Amitabha Roy, Google
OmniReduce: Efficient Sparse Collective Operations via Smart Aggregators
Chen-Yu Ho and Marco Canini (KAUST)
Mentor: Valerio Schiavoni, University of Neuchatel, Switzerland
A Storage Software Stack for Accelerators
Shinichi Awamoto ( IIJ Innovation Institute Inc)
Mentor: Zsolt Istvan, IMDEA Software Institute
Novel adaptation mechanisms for distributed data stores
Antonis Papaioannou (University of Crete)
Mentor: Rüdiger Kapitza, TU Braunschweig
Finding Bugs in Non-Volatile Memory Programs
David Aksun and James Larus (EPFL)
Mentor: Irene Zhang, Microsoft Research
BMC: Accelerating Memcached using safe in-kernel caching and pre-stack processing
Yoann Ghigoff (Sorbonne Université, Inria, LIP6 / Orange Labs)
Mentor: Pascal Felber, University of Neuchatel, Switzerland
Intelligent and Cost-Efficient Data Management for Hybrid Memory Systems
Thaleia Dimitra Doudali and Ada Gavrilovska ( Georgia Institute of Technology)
Mentor: Antonio Barbalace, Stevens Institute of Technology
Achieving High Throughput and Elasticity in a Larger-than-Memory Store
Chinmay Kulkarni ( University of Utah) (accepted but not presenting)
Mentor: Tim Harris, Amazon
15:00 – 15:30 Break
15:30 – 17:00 Session 2: Resource and dependability management
Chair: Lydia Y. Chen
Towards robust learning systems
Amirmasoud Ghiassi and Lydia Y. Chen (TU Delft)
Mentor: Tim Harris, Amazon
A new environment for composable and dependable distributed computing
Benoit Martin, Laurent Prosperi, and Marc Shapiro (Sorbonne Université, CNRS, INRIA, LIP6)
Mentor: Rodrigo Rodrigues, IST (ULisboa) / INESC-ID
Exploring the Extensibility of a Symbolically Executable Hypervisor
Alexander Kammeyer (Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt)
Mentor: Mark Silberstein, Technion
Decentralized Approach to Low Latency Global Scheduling
Smita Vijayakumar, Anil Madhavapeddy, Evangelia Kalyvianaki (University of Cambridge)
Mentor: Yvonne-Anne Pignolet, DFINITY
INCAS: In-Network Compute Aware Scheduler
Konstantinos Fertakis (Imperial College London)
Mentor: Eiko Yoneki, University of Cambridge
HoneyPlant: A Distributed Hybrid Honeypot System for ICS Security
Sam Maesschalck, Vasileios Giotsas, Benjamin Green, and Nicholas Race ( Lancaster University)
Mentor: Christopher Stewart, The Ohio State University
The Modeling and Management of Computational Sprinting
Nathaniel Morris (The Ohio State University)
Mentor: Guillaume Pierre, IRISA / University of Rennes 1
Data Distribution and Exploitation in a Global-Scale Microservice Artefact Observatory
Panagiotis Gkikopoulos, Josef Spillner (Zurich University of Applied Sciences) and Valerio Schiavoni (University of Neuchâtel)
Mentor: Paolo Costa, Microsoft Research

Submission Instructions

If you would like to participate in the workshop, please submit your materials before the deadline. Submissions will receive written feedback from the PC, but the submission process is very lightweight and the main purpose is to put together the program and to match students with mentors.

Submission site:

Submissions should be up to 2 pages (including title and figures but excluding references) and should include the following sections only:

  • Abstract
  • Introduction (problem statement, an overview of the proposed work, main differences from existing works)
  • Overview of the proposed work
  • Preliminary results (if applicable)
  • Work to be done (description of the planned work to address the proposed research problem and brief timeline to PhD completion)
  • Related work

Submissions will be accessed based on the importance, clarity and relevance to EuroSys of the research problem, excellent understanding of the core related work, realistic and clear roadmap to work completion towards the PhD, and overall quality of the submission paper.

Please note that there will be no published proceedings. Submissions shall be in .pdf, 2-column, single-spaced, 10pt format.

In addition, please include the following information in your submission form:

  • PhD advisor’s name and affiliation
  • Year when you started your PhD
  • Expected submission date of the PhD thesis


Important Dates

Submission due: February 21th, 2020 (23:59 hrs CET) Extended submission due: March 1st, 2020 (anywhere on earth)

Acceptance notification: March 13th, 2020

Student grant application deadline: March 20, 2020

Workshop: April 27, 2020



Program Chairs

Evangelia Kalyvianaki, University of Cambridge, UK

Lydia Y. Chen, TU Delft, the Netherlands

Program Committee

Amitabha Roy, Google

Antonio Barbalace, Stevens Institute of Technology

Christopher Stewart, The Ohio State University

Eiko Yoneki, University of Cambridge

Evangelos P. Markatos, FORTH

Guillaume Pierre, IRISA / University of Rennes 1

Irene Zhang, Microsoft Research

Jan Rellermeyer, TU Delft

John Wilkes, Google Inc

Jonathan Sid-Otmane, LIP6/Orange

Konstantinos Karanasos, Microsoft

Mark Silberstein, Technion

Michio Honda, University of Edinburgh

Miguel Correia, INESC-ID, Instituto Superior Técnico, Universidade de Lisboa

Paolo Costa, Microsoft Research

Pascal Felber, University of Neuchatel, Switzerland

Robert Birke, ABB Research

Rodrigo Rodrigues, IST (ULisboa) / INESC-ID

Romain Rouvoy, University of Lille / Inria / IUF

Rüdiger Kapitza, TU Braunschweig

Sonia Ben Mokhtar, CNRS

Srinath Setty, Microsoft Research

Tim Harris, Amazon

Valerio Schiavoni, University of Neuchatel, Switzerland

Yvonne-Anne Pignolet, DFINITY

Zsolt Istvan, IMDEA Software Institute